In terms of popularity, the Big Bash League is without a doubt the IPL’s largest rival to date. Some of the top cricketers in the world compete in the Australian T-20 competition. Big Bash began before the IPL, but the Big Bash League, a new version of it, began in 2011. Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder are the eight teams competing in the competition. Perth Scorchers have been the most successful team in the tournament thus far. They were three-time champions in the competition. Let’s take a look at all of the tournament’s previous victors.


Big Bash League (in Australia)2011/12Sixers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2012/13Heat
Big Bash League (in Australia)2013/14Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2014/15Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2015/16Thunder
Big Bash League (in Australia)2016/17Scorchers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2017/18Strikers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2018/19Renegades
Big Bash League (in Australia)2019/20Sixers
Big Bash League (in Australia)2020/21Sixers

Big Bash League Season 1 (2020-21)

After ten editions of the Big Bash League, the winner Sydney Sixers and runner-up Perth Scorchers are tied with three titles each. In the domestic Big Bash T20 league final, James Vince led Sydney Sixers to a strong 188/6. The English cricketer scored 90 runs off 60 balls in an innings that featured ten boundaries and three maximums. Their bowlers did an excellent job of defending the score, restricting the Scorchers to 161/9 for a 27-run victory.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2019-20)

The tournament’s eighth season is already in full swing. As a result, predicting who will win the season is extremely difficult. The final of the eight-team event will take place on February 8, 2020. The Melbourne Renegades are now in first place, but there is still a long way to go in the competition, so things can change quickly. The stars were concerned about the rain, but the actual issue was within them. As the Sixers lift the trophy, it’s raining down again. While they wait for glory, Stars, who were winners in 2012 and again in 2020, continue to wait.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2018-19)

Melbourne Renegades won the title in spectacular manner, defeating Melbourne Stars by just 13 runs. The Melbourne Stars had victory in their grasp, requiring only 53 runs from 42 balls, but a disastrous collapse of seven wickets for 19 runs, courtesy of the Renegades’ powerful bowling attack, left them needing 28 runs from the final over to win.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2017-18)

Adelaide scored 202 for the loss of two wickets after winning the toss on the last day. Jake Weatherald smashed it out of the park with a 115 off 70 balls. In their pursuit, the Hurricanes can only muster 177 points. Without a doubt, Jake Weatherald was man of the match, while D’Arcy Short was named man of the tournament for his batting masterpiece.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2016-17)

This year, the Perth Scorchers won their third championship. They bowled first and reduced the Sydney Sixers to a modest 141 for 9. With four overs remaining, they easily chased down the target. Michael Klinger won the match with a 71. Jhye Richardson was named man of the match for his three wickets in the first innings. Chris Lynn was named the tournament’s man of the match for the second time in a row.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2015-16)

This time, the Sydney Thunder faced the Melbourne Stars in the finals. Melbourne batted first and achieved a respectable 176 for the loss of nine wickets. With three balls to spare, the Sydney Thunder chased down the score. For his brave 70-run innings, Usman Khawaja was named man of the match. Chris Lynn was named player of the tournament for the fifth consecutive season.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2014-15)

For the second year in a row, the Perth Scorchers have won the Premier League. It was against the Sydney Sixers this time. The Sydney Sixers batted first, scoring 147 runs for the loss of five wickets. Perth Scorchers responded by successfully chasing the objective in the final ball of the match. Shaun Marsh was named man of the match for his 77-run inning. Jacques Kallis was named the tournament’s player of the year.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2013-14)

The Perth Scorchers defeated the Hobart Hurricanes in the finals after losing the previous two seasons. They scored a massive 191 runs while batting first. With a quick 63, Shaun Marsh was the highest scorer. In their respective allotment of overs, the Hobart Hurricanes only managed to score 152 runs. Brad Hogg was voted man of the match after taking three wickets for just 17 runs, while Ben Dunk was chosen man of the tournament.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2012-13)

Perth Scorchers and Brisbane Heat met in the tournament final this time. The Brisbane Heat batted first and set the Perth Scorchers a target of 168 runs. Joe Burns smashed the house with 43 of his 27 balls. The Perth Scorchers were defeated by 34 runs. With three wickets, Kemar Roach was their leading wicket-taker, but Nathon Lyon was named man of the match for his economical bowling. Aaron Finch was named the player of the tournament this time.

Big Bash League Season 1 (2011-12)

The inaugural season of the event was thrilling, with the final between the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers. Perth Scorchers scored 156 runs for the cost of 5 wickets. Mitchell Marsh smashed it out of the park with a 77. Batting second, the Sydney Sixers chased down the target with 1 over to spare, winning the tournament’s maiden season. For his sensational 77 runs off just 41 balls, Moises Henriques was named man of the match. David Hussey was named the tournament’s best player.


Leave a Comment