Cricbuzz prediction today: Ranji Trophy: Ashutosh Singh ton helps Chattisgarh fight back against Karnataka

The batsmen contributed 210 runs with Amandeep Kale in the fourth wicket after the team were down to 43/3 early in the innings.

Ashutosh Singh (118 punches, 273b, 18×4, 1×6) and Amandeep Khare (93, 191b, 13×4) return to Chhattisgarh vs. Karnataka for day one of the Ranji Trophy Elite Group ‘C’ match at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Tuesday. I dug deep to make it happen.

Ashutosh and Amandeep got into trouble with Chhattisgarh going 43-3. The duo got off to a cautious start and went all out in the evening session. A four-wicket tally of 210 runs kept the home side from breaking down the door as Chhattisgarh finished the day 267 for 5.

Karnataka’s pacesetter Vidwath gave hope to his team at home with his second new ball as his Kaverappa sacked Amandeep and Sumit Ruiker in 86 overs. Amandeep, who was due to take his second 100 in the tournament, was most upset when he saw wicketkeeper B.R. Sharas.

Ashutosh was great. He entered Crease in the second set and looked comfortable in a long undefeated stint. With a severe cut to the fence, Ashutosh entered the 5th century in a first class car. He happily showed off his biceps and enjoyed the loud applause of his teammates.

Ashutosh made the most of the reprieve given during 1st down when Vishal Onat missed his chance with a slipcordon.

Fast bowlers Kaberappa, Vyshak his Vijay Kumar and V. Koushik were able to score quite a few seam movements, especially in the morning session. Openers Avnish Singh and Anuj Tiwari were sent back to the Ducks and both batsmen grabbed Sharath.

After initial success, the runabout was lost in the queue. The ball was often blasted wide to the leg, forcing Chalas to dive stop.

Unable to make an impact on this pitch, spinner K. Gowtham and his Shreyas Gopal rolled his 32 wicketless overs during the day.

Scorecard – Karnataka vs Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh – 1st innings: Avnish Singh c Sharath b Kaverappa 0, Anuj Tiwary c Sharath b Koushik 0, Ashutosh Singh (batting) 118, Harpreet Bhatia c Sharath b Vyshak 34, Amandeep Khare c Sharath b Kaverappa 93, Sumit Ruikar b Kaverappa 0, Shashank Singh (batting) 2, Extras (b-9, lb-6, w-3, nb-2): 20; Total (for five wkts, in 90 overs): 267.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-1, 3-43, 4-253, 5-253.

Karnataka bowling: Kaverappa 21-4-54-3, Koushik 19-6-31-1, Vyshak 18-6-38-1, Shreyas 16-0-70-0, Gowtham 16-3-59-0.

Leave a Comment