T10 League Winners

When T10 cricket was originally introduced in 2017, it felt like a far-fetched concept. In just three to four years, though, the format has gained popularity among cricket fans all over the world. The Emirates Cricket Board established the T10 League in 2017 with six teams. The initial edition lasted only four days and featured 13 matches in all. The Sharjah Cricket Ground hosted all of the matches.

The competition featured several celebrities, which helped the league gain a lot of attention. Because the league’s viewership and interest were high, the organisers decided to expand it to an eight-team competition for the second season. Sharjah hosted the second edition as well.

For the third and fourth editions, however, the competition was moved to Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium. At the moment, eight teams are competing in an eight-team tournament in Abu Dhabi, which will last nine days and feature 26 matches.

The franchises have changed across the four editions, which is interesting. Only the Bangla Tigers and Maratha Arabians had participated in the inaugural season of the T10 league this year. Several franchises have participated in the event. There was even a Team Sri Lanka in the league at one point. Let’s take a look at the T10 League champions from previous seasons.

T10 matches will be played over 10 overs per side for a total of 90 minutes. The competition will follow a round-robin style, with semi-finals and finals taking place later on. Each bowler gets two overs every innings, and the powerplay lasts three overs, with a maximum of two players outside the 30-yard circle allowed. A maximum of 5 players will be allowed outside the circle after the first three overs. Eoin Morgan led the Kerala Kings to win in the inaugural season of the 2017 tournament. Northern Warriors, led by Darren Sammy and armed with Caribbean firepower, dominated the 2018 season. Maratha Arabians won the event in 2019 thanks to a disciplined and consistent performance.

2017Kerala Kings (121/2 after 8 overs)Punjabi Legends (120/3 after 10 overs
2018Northern Warriors (140/3 after 10 oversPakhtoons (118/7 after 10 overs)
2019Maratha Arabians (89/2 after 7.2 overs)Deccan Gladiators (87/8 after 10 overs)
2021Northern Warriors (85/2 after 8.2 overs)Delhi Bulls (81/9 after 10 overs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *