Top 5 Highest Team Scores in IPL History

Over the years, the Indian Premier League has created a number of high-scoring matches. The pitches in India are known for assisting batsmen and occasionally favouring them over bowlers. It further adds to the fact that the best power hitters in cricket are often seen in the IPL, where they represent various franchises.

The IPL 2021 is due to launch on April 9, and fans are already anticipating the arrival of the big guns. Given the kind of scores we saw last season, we should predict a few more 200-plus scores, with batsmen scoring hundreds or even 150. With the new season just around the corner, now is a perfect time to take a look back at the best team averages in the cash-rich league’s history. Here’s what we’re looking at:

5. Chennai Super Kings (240/5) vs KXIP In 2008

We’ll have to go all the way back to the first version of the IPL for this one. The scene moved to Mohali after the first night’s action in Bangalore, where Brendon McCullum smashed 158 not out (now Punjab Kings). Chennai won the toss and chose to bat first, and they got off to a great start.

But it was Michael Hussey, batting at No. 3, who absolutely turned the match around. He scored the IPL’s second century in just the league’s second match. His 116-run knock came from just 54 balls and had eight fours and nine sixes. Suresh Raina’s (32 runs off 13 balls) and S Badrinath’s (31 runs off 14 balls) fast cameos further cemented CSK’s place in the match.

In all honesty, there weren’t many poor balls, but CSK’s record of 240 for 5 was the product of world-class batting. For two years, this score held the record for the highest score, until CSK themselves smashed it. Punjab fell short by 33 runs despite fiery fifties from Kumar Sangakkara (54 runs off 33 balls) and James Hopes (71 runs off 33 balls).

4. Kolkata Knight Riders (245/6) vs KXIP In 2018

Kolkata’s batting unit seemed to be very dangerous for imposing fear on other teams heading into the 2018 IPL. But it all came together in Indore during one of the afternoon matches, which they needed to win at all costs to remain in the tournament. Sunil Narine, the KKR’s makeshift pinch-hitter, scored 75 runs off just 36 balls to get the team off to a flying start.

The critical partnership between Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik, on the other hand, put the Punjab team out of contention. The major West Indian scored 31 runs in 14 balls, while Dinesh Karthik, the then-KKR captain, scored 50 runs in 23 balls. Any late cameos were also crucial in helping them reach those lofty heights.

Intriguingly, Javon Searles struck the final ball for a huge six, bringing KKR’s total to 245 for 6. Punjab were always going to struggle to reach the mark, but they didn’t help their cause by losing a slew of wickets at crucial stages of the chase. KL Rahul scored 66 runs in 29 balls, while Ravichandran Ashwin scored 45 runs in 22 balls. Russell was in action for KKR once more, taking three wickets for 41 runs.

3. Chennai Super Kings (246/5) vs Rajasthan Royals In 2010

Chennai Super Kings had several issues during the league stages of the 2010 IPL season. They were snatching victories here and there, but continuity was a problem for the side. Murali Vijay, on the other hand, played an innings in an afternoon game in Chennai that is still regarded as one of the best in the IPL’s history.

Chennai got off to a good start and seemed to be on track for a score of about 200 runs, but at 83 for 2, Albie Morkel replaced Vijay at the crease. The two worked together to not only take the match away from Rajasthan, but also to put on a display of big-hitting. Morkel made 62 runs off 34 balls, while Vijay made 127 runs off just 56 balls.

Morkel hit five sixes and Vijay smashed 11 in a partnership that yielded 152 runs from 66 balls. Chennai scored 246 points out of a possible 500, though Rajasthan only managed 223 points out of a possible 500. Shane Watson scored 60 runs from 25 balls, while Naman Ojha made a career-best 94 not out from 55 balls.

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore (248/3) vs Gujarat Lions In 2016

When it comes to high-scoring matches, we can’t talk about them without including those played at Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers formed one of the best T20 partnerships of all time in a 2016 match against the now-defunct Gujarat Lions.

RCB didn’t get off to a strong start, losing Chris Gayle in the fourth over for 19 runs. The Chinnaswamy crowd, on the other hand, witnessed carnage for the next hour or so. ABD continued to attack the bowlers, though Kohli spent time at the crease adjusting to the wicket. In the meantime, the South African was singing.

Kohli’s persistence, on the other hand, paid off in the end. His first 50 runs came off 40 balls, followed by 59 runs off 15 balls, for a total of 109 runs off 55 balls. ABD, on the other side, scored an unbeaten 129 runs off 52 balls to win the match. The partnership between the two lasted 229 runs, making it the second-longest in T20 history. Gujarat were bowled out for 104 runs, giving RCB a 144-run victory.

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore (263/5) vs Pune Warriors India In 2013 

Chris Gayle entered the 2013 IPL with a history of magical and dominating innings from the previous two seasons. However, there’s no denying that the universe’s ruler had his sights set on shattering those history. The left-handed opener came into Chinnaswamy Stadium one afternoon and shattered the fastest T20 century ever.

He got his first 50 runs off just 17 hits. People figured that was a fast fifty, but he followed that up with another 50 runs in 13 balls. Eight of those balls had gone for fours by the time he hit his 30-ball hundred, while 11 had flown over for sixes. He didn’t stop there; he went on to score the first double century in the format’s history.

Unfortunately, he slowed down at the end of his career, finishing with an undefeated 175 runs from just 66 balls. AB de Villiers added an 8-ball-31 to help RCB set an IPL record for the highest total ever scored in a match. The now-defunct Pune Warriors India finished their 20 overs with a score of 133 for 9, falling 130 runs short of their target.

Leave a Comment