Women’s Big Bash League Winners

The Women’s Big Bash League is one of the highest-rated T-20 leagues in the world today. The Australian Woman’s Twenty20 Cup was held prior to the inception of this league. The competition took its place. The team names are same to those used in the men’s Big Bash League competition. Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder are the teams in the competition. The league began in 2015, and it is currently in its fourth season. The Sydney Sixers are the most successful team to date, having won the championship twice. Let’s take a look at the winners of the Women’s Big Bash League over all seasons.

winner – 2020

The Sydney Thunder defeated the Melbourne Stars in the encounter. Sydney Stars batted first and scored 86 runs for the cost of nine wickets. With 7 wickets and 6 overs to spare, the Sydney Thunder chased down the target. Rachel Haynes and Heather Knight each batted 26 or 21 runs in a calm and composed performance. Thunder secure their second WBBL title in style with a clean strike down the ground.

winner – 2019

This year, the Brisbane Heat began their winning streak. The Adelaide Strikers were their opponents. The Strikers batted first and scored 161/7, which the Brisbane Heat easily chased down. Heat’s Beth Mooney scored 56 points on just 46 balls.

winner – 2018

The Brisbase Heat and the Sydney Sixers clashed in the championship once more, with the same result. The Scorchers scored 137 runs in their first innings. With three wickets in hand, the Heat hit the winning runs in the penultimate over. Beth Mooney was the top scorer once again, with 65 points off just 46 balls.

winner – 2017

The Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers clashed in the final once again, with the same result. The Scorchers were all out for 99 runs while batting first. With 9 wickets in hand, the Sixers achieved the required runs in in 15 overs. Alyssa Healy was the top scorer once again, with 41 off 32 balls, but Sarah Coyte was named player of the match after taking four wickets in three overs and allowing just 17 runs.

winner – 2016

This year, the Sydney Sixers began their winning streak. The Perth Scorchers were their opponents. The Scorchers batted first and scored 117/7, which the Sixers easily chased down. Sixers’ Alyssa Healy scored 40 points on just 27 shots. For her four wickets, Sarah Aley was named player of the match.

winner – 2015

Sydney Thunder defeated Sydney Sixers in the match. The Sydney Sixers batted first and scored 115 runs for the lost of five wickets. With three balls to spare, the Sydney Thunder chased down the score. Rachel Haynes pitched a 37-pitch innings of calm and composure. For her outstanding bowling effort, Erin Osborne of the losing side was named player of the match.

SeasonWinnersWon byRunners-Up
2015-16Sydney Thunder3 wicketsSydney Sixers
2016-17Sydney Sixers7 runsPerth Scorchers
2017-18Sydney Sixers9 wicketsPerth Scorchers
2018-19Brisbane Heat3 wicketsSydney Sixers
2019-20Brisbane Heat6 wicketsAdelaide Strikers
2020-21Sydney Thunder7 wicketsMelbourne Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *