Before India’s players assemble in Mumbai for the UK tour, the BCCI plans three COVID-19 tests : cricket free tips

Before departing for the UK to play the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand and a five-match Test series against England, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has devised a foolproof blueprint for the national team. According to sources familiar with the roadmap, plans have been made for all players to undergo three RT-PCR tests before gathering in Mumbai on May 19. “The players will undergo three RT-PCR tests at their homes and will assemble in Mumbai on May 19 if the results are negative.” Before leaving for the UK on June 2, everybody in the contingent will be quarantined for 14 days in India.

image taken from : BCCI / ICC

Almost every member of the Indian contingent due to travel to the United Kingdom has received the first dose of the Covid-19 vaccine, and the second dose will most likely be administered in the United Kingdom.

A BCCI official had previously said, when asked about the players’ vaccination, that: “The Indian government has made vaccination available to everyone above the age of 18, allowing the players to get their first dose.

“However, the second dose remains a concern, and while the BCCI is working closely with the England and Wales Cricket Board to ensure that players will get a second dose in the UK, if this is not authorised by the UK government, the vaccine will be imported from India for the second dose. Let’s take a look at how it goes.

The BCCI has appointed a 20-man squad (two of whom are subject to fitness clearance) with four standby players. Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Arzan Nagwaswalla are three of the four standby players.

The day after the squad was revealed, Prasidh tested positive for COVID-19, but he is expected to be healthy in time for the departure.

India’s Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Leave a Comment