Correct cricket match prediction: Zampa defends leak appeal decision in non-forward termination

Despite criticism on social media and some Australian players being too surprised, Zampa stuck to his stance, saying he was just following the rulebook.

Melbourne Stars skipper Adam Zampa said he was entitled to knock out Tom Rodgers in a non-forward end against the Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League (BBL) on Tuesday, but the TV referee said dismissed the appeal.

Renegades won his match at the MCG on Tuesday where he won by 33 runs and the Stars were unable to chase his modest target of 142 runs.

On Tuesday, as Zampa finished his follow-through and was about to pass the ball to Mackenzie Harvey, he turned around and signaled the umpire to remove the bail on Rogers and give the batter a marching order.

However, undeterred by Zampa’s call, the referee first argued with the bowler, telling him that his arm was “vertical”, the point beyond which the ball was considered bowled. He then checked the TV referee, which led to the same verdict, and gave Rogers reprieve.

Despite criticism in his media and the surprise of some Australian players, Zampa took to the stands Wednesday to say he was just following the rulebook.

“I think I had the right to do it. It’s in the rulebook and by the rules,” Zampa told his SEN.

The laws of cricket dictate that a bowler can only complete one run on the non-striker side before completing his action bowling, but in Zampa’s case he had completed bowling his action.

Zampa, 33, added that his escape attempt took place after Rogers slipped out of the crease multiple times. “Tom Rogers popped out of the crease before I bowled…that’s his advantage. I passed a good ball to Mackenzie Harvey. If he (Rogers) didn’t pass, one It should have been (a run instead of two).I thought he did something he should never have done,” Zampa said.

“So I thought, this ball, if he doesn’t want to hit it, try to make it a little easier for him. I think I had the right to do that. It’s in the rulebook and within the rules. But Zampa added that his temple should have been torn off before his arm crossed the “vertical.”

“I just got my technique wrong. He (Rogers) was almost half way through the wicket.

I’m a very competitive guy, so I think I saw a little bit of redness when he (Rogers) used it to his advantage (from the crease). “

Leave a Comment