ICC Men’s T20 World Cup groups announced : Online Cricket Prediction

In one group of Super 12s, Australia, England, South Africa, and the West Indies compete; in the other, Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, and New Zealand compete.
Images and videos from the Muscat launch event, as well as graphics, may be seen in our Online Media Zone.
The International Cricket Council (ICC) today revealed the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, which will be held from October 17 to November 14 in Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

In Group 1 of the Super 12s, reigning champions the West Indies are grouped alongside previous champions England, Australia, and South Africa, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them, based on team rankings as of March 20, 2021.

image taken from : icc
image taken from : icc

Former champions India and Pakistan, as well as New Zealand, Afghanistan, and the other two Round 1 qualifiers, will make up Group 2. The opening round will include eight teams, including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, as well as the other six countries that qualified through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. In Group A, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Namibia will play Sri Lanka, while in Group B, Oman, Papua New Guinea, and Scotland will face Bangladesh.

“We are pleased to announce the groupings for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021,” said ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice. As our first multi-team tournament since the worldwide epidemic approaches, the groups are offering some fantastic matchups, which begins to bring the event to life for our followers.

“Given the interruption created by COVID-19, we chose a cutoff date as close to the tournament as feasible to ensure we could include as much cricket as possible in the rankings that decide the groupings. When the tournament begins in three months, there’s little question we’ll see some fiercely contested cricket.”

“With the release of groups, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup begins,” BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said. Nothing distinguishes the two groups, since both are jam-packed with teams who are fierce competitors in the game’s shortest format. Having said that, the thrilling T20 format is renowned for its unexpected twists and turns, and we must be ready for them. I’m sure we’ll see some thrilling and nerve-wracking contests.

“I am very pleased to be in Oman. The BCCI has always tried to promote and support Associate Nations as a significant force in global cricket. As President of the Asian Cricket Council, my goal is to promote cricket across Asia. Oman Cricket will be elevated to the world scene as a result of co-hosting the World Cup. They’re also in the Qualifiers, and making it to the Super 12s would be the cherry on top.”

“It is excellent to bring Oman in the frame of global cricket with the hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup,” said BCCI President Sourav Ganguly. It will encourage a large number of young players to get interested in the game. In our area of the globe, we know it will be a world-class event.”

“Oman Cricket has come a long way, and today is a watershed moment for us to have the ICC and BCCI here at Oman Cricket Academy to announce the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup groups!” said Pankaj Khimji, Chairman of Oman Cricket.

Playing in and organising the tournament allows us to demonstrate not just our dedication to the game’s growth, but also Oman as a welcome destination to the rest of the globe!

Khalid Al Zarooni, Vice President of the Emirates Cricket Board: “Understanding the present sports environment, Emirates Cricket congratulates the ICC, the BCCI, and the individual countries on today’s announcement of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 groups.

“Based on these groupings, we expect a very competitive and immensely entertaining international cricket spectacle. This is an ambitious event, and the whole UAE Cricket squad is thrilled to be a part of it.”

Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.”

The tournament schedule will be released as soon as possible.

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.
Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *