Lucknow, not Pune, as the IPL’s tenth team in 2022? An ex-Indian cricketer makes a significant assertion : IPL 2022

With the BCCI poised to welcome two new clubs to the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2022, speculation about the teams has begun. From the 15th season of the IPL, a total of ten teams are expected to compete.

While most assume that one side would be from Ahmedabad after the city’s new Narendra Modi Stadium at Motera, which has the world’s highest capacity, opened to international cricket this year, speculation about the second squad has begun.

image taken from :

While many assume Pune would be the tenth team, former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra believes it will be Lucknow, the capital of Uttar Pradesh.

Aakash Chopra, speaking about the matter on his YouTube channel, stated that teams are limited to four players, with a maximum of three Indian players or two Indian and two international players. He further stated that, with the newly constructed Narendra Modi Stadium almost ready to host a home team, the second team may be from Lucknow, who would play in the city’s Atal Vihari Bajpayee Stadium.

Chopra further stated that starting in 2022, the event will be a 90-game competition. The first player retained by a team will be paid INR 15 crore, the second INR 11 crore, and the third INR 7 crore.

Leave a Comment