Perfect cricbuzz prediction: Steven Smith and Beth Mooney named Australian cricketers of the year

Steven Smith and Beth Mooney take top honors at the Cricket Australia Awards and Usman Khawaja is named the inaugural Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year.

Smith won his fourth Allan Border Medal alongside Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke.

In all three formats, Smith scored 1,547 runs in his 32 matches, of which 863 were his 71.92 in Tests. Voting in testing is more important than ODI or T20I. Smith received his 171 votes, comfortably ahead of Travis Head (144) and David Warner (141).

Mooney was also named his ODI Player of the Year and in his 13 matches in the format he scored 594 runs at 99.00. Last year’s Ashes Test, which covered half a century since Mooney broke his jaw, also entered the balloting phase with 449 runs, 56.12 and a 134.43 batting average in the T20Is.

Mooney (129 votes) overtook Meg Lanning (110 votes) and Talia McGrath (95 votes), the latter winning his T20I award for his stellar return to international cricket.

The men’s test honors were first named after Warne, who died last March. Khawaja returned to the team last year scoring his 200 in the SCG Ashes Test and during the voting period he scored 1,020 runs and did not miss his career-high 195 scoring his 78.46. Did.

Khawaja’s off-field contributions were also recognized by his Usman Khawaja Foundation’s Community His Impact award, which helps youth from disadvantaged communities by providing educational and cricket opportunities. Men’s whiteball honors went to ODI’s Warner, who surprisingly didn’t finish in the top three for Adam Zampa, and T20’s Marcus Stoinis.

Adelaide Strikers all-rounder Matt Short was named BBL Player of the Tournament after a contest that scored 458 runs, took 11 wickets and scored his century unbeaten. Ashleigh Gardner confirmed earlier in the season that she was the WBBL Champion.

Ian Redpath and Margaret Jennings have been inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Leave a Comment