South Africa VS Pakistan : In this Last-Over Thriller, Fakhar Zaman Runs Out In A Controversial Manner In 2nd Odi

Fakhar Zaman was controversially run out in the second One-Day International between Pakistan and South Africa in Johannesburg on Sunday. With Pakistan required 31 runs to win and Zaman on 193 at the start of the 50th over, he opted to go for a second run after playing the first ball towards the off side. Quinton de Kock, who was preparing to catch the ball at the striker’s end, made a motion that suggested the throw should be made at the non-end. striker’sThe stumps at the striker’s end were disrupted by a direct impact as Zaman was blindsided with his back to the fielder. Zaman, who had expected a throw at the other end, was caught short of his ground.

Pakistan fell agonisingly short of their target of 342 runs after finishing 324 for 9. Zaman’s heroic effort of 193, the highest-ever individual performance in an ODI chase, was in vain.

Zaman’s dismissal sparked debate, as the International Cricket Council (ICC) has a ‘false fielding’ provision in order to prevent fielders from distracting batsmen.

“Deliberate diversion, deceit, or interference of batsman,” according to clause 41.5 of the ICC Men’s ODI Playing Conditions.

“It is unacceptable for any fielder to wilfully try, by word or gesture, to distract, mislead, or hinder any batsman after the striker has obtained the ball,” according to clause 41.5.1.

“It is for any one of the umpires to determine whether any distraction, deceit, or obstruction is wilful or not,” says clause 41.5.2.

“If any umpire believes that a fielder has caused or tried to cause such a diversion, deceit, or interference, he/she shall automatically call and signal Dead ball and notify the other umpire of the reason for the call,” according to Rules 41.5.3 and 41.5.4.

“From that delivery, neither batsman shall be dismissed.”

If an offence within 41.5 is detected, 41.5.6 mandates a penalty on the fielding side.

“The bowler’s end umpire shall grant 5 penalty runs to the batting side (and) notify the fielding side captain of the cause for this decision and the batting side captain as soon as possible.”

“The ball shall not count as one of the overs,” the same provision 41.5 specifies.

“Any runs achieved by the batsmen before the infringement shall be scored, along with any runs for offences awarded to either team. Additionally, the run in advance shall be scored whether or not the batsmen have already crossed at the moment of the offence.

“The batsmen at the wicket will choose who will get the next delivery.

“The umpires may then report the incident to an ICC Match Referee, who may take necessary action.

considered sufficient in the case of the fielder in question”

The throw, however, came in at the end of Zaman’s run, and the Pakistan batsman was a long way from his ground.

The on-field umpires did not object to Zaman’s dismissal, and he was forced to return to the pavilion on foot.

Leave a Comment