SouthAfrica VS Pakisthan : In Reaction To Fakhar Zaman’s Controversial Run Out, MCC Explains The Rules

The infamous run out of Pakistan opening batsman Fakhar Zaman in the second One-Day International against South Africa on Sunday reignited a spirit of cricket discussion. Zaman’s heroic 193-run innings came to an end in the first ball of the game’s final over, when Aiden Markram’s direct hit from long-off trapped him short of his crease. The dismissal has sparked heated discussion after wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock seemed to indicate that Markram’s throw could be heading to the non-end. striker’s

When Zaman saw this motion, he slowed down, thinking the throw might not come from his end, but Markram caught him off guard.

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) then took to Twitter to clarify the rules, stating that the umpire would determine if the fielder’s act of distracting the batter was willful or not.

“It is unacceptable for any fielder to intentionally try, by word or gesture, to distract, trick, or hinder any batsman after the striker has obtained the ball,” MCC tweeted.

“The Law is straightforward, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to cheat, rather than the batsman genuinely being fooled,” it said in another tweet. It is up to the umpires to determine whether or not such an effort was made. If that’s the case, it’s not out: 5 penalty runs plus the two they scored, and the batsmen get to pick who faces the next hit.”

Temba Bavuma, South Africa’s white-ball captain, defended wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock’s position in the disputed run-out.

“Quinny was extremely astute. Some may object because it isn’t in keeping with the spirit of the game. However, it was a crucial wicket for us. Zaman was approaching our objective. Quinny was astute, to say the least “Bavuma was quoted by ESPNcricinfo as saying.

“You must always be on the lookout for opportunities to change the momentum, particularly when things aren’t going your way. Quinny did so, and I don’t believe he violated any laws in the process. It was a well-executed game of cricket “Added he.

Quinton de Kock, according to Zaman, made no mistakes and it was just his fault that he was discovered short of the crease.

“It was my fault because I was too busy looking for Haris Rauf on the other end, who I thought was in trouble because he’d started off a little late from his crease. The match referee will decide the rest, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault “Zaman was quoted by ESPNcricinfo as saying.

With two wickets in hand and chasing 342 in the second ODI, Pakistan required 31 in the final over to win. Pakistan never had a chance after Zaman’s run-out, and the visitors lost by 17 runs.

Leave a Comment