Today cricbuzz prediction: Rohit Pawar elected President of Maharashtra Cricket Association

Rohit was not contested for office among the 16 elected MPs in the elections held at the MCA International Stadium in Pune on Sunday.

A veteran cricket administrator and political heavyweight, MP Rohit Pawar, who is also the grandson of Sharad Pawar, has been elected president of the Maharashtra Cricket Association.

Rohit was not contested for office among his 16 elected MPs in elections held at the MCA International Stadium in Pune on Sunday.

The 37-year-old Rohit was elected to the MLA in 2019 from the Karjat-Jamkhed constituency. After building his state-of-the-art cricket stadium in the family fortress of Baramati, he joined the election campaign of the ruling Ajay Sirke faction. The extended MCA election has wiped out Shirke Group, even though all existing officers were barred from contesting it by constitutional provisions.

In the MCA election, 155 voters divided into various categories elect her 16 congressmen from nine categories. Her 16 elected representatives must then stand for election. Rohit and Sunil Mutha have his former Maharashtra captain Shantanu Sugwekar and Abhishek Bokey selected as candidates for the Life Membership category.

Of his 24 votes cast for his two entries in this category, Rohit got his 22 votes and Mutha got his 21 votes. Bokey, the distant grandson of Sugwekar and Pawar Sr., the duo pushing for long-delayed constitutional reform, had to settle by two and three votes respectively.

Once all elected councilors had been elected from the ruling factions, officers were elected without ballot.

The office-bearers: President: Rohit Pawar Vice-president: Kiran Samant Secretary: Shubhendra Bhandarkar Joint secretary: Santosh Bobde Treasurer: Sanjay Bajaj.

Leave a Comment