Top 5 longest sixes in IPL history

The implementation of the T20 format resulted in a slew of improvements to the way cricket was played and, most specifically, the players’ attitude. The emphasis changed from defending one’s wicket to scoring runs quickly. As a result, sixes became the batsmen’s favourite option in the style. As a result, it became synonymous with T20s.

The Indian Premier League (IPL), India’s annual franchise T20 tournament, is a living example of the shift in focus. The tournament is known for scoring short runs and hitting big sixes. To name a couple, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Rohit Sharma, and Kieron Pollard have all light up the tournament with major hits into the sky. If a six is a six regardless of distance, there is a feeling of pride when the six is a big one. On that note, here are the top five longest sixes in the IPL’s history.

SNPlayerSix Distance (in Meters)IPL season
1Albie Morkel1252008
2Praveen Kumar1242011
3Adam Gilchrist1222011
4Robin Uthappa1202010
5Chris Gayle1192013
6Yuvraj Singh1192009
7Ross Taylor1192008
8Ben Cutting1172016
9Gautam Gambhir1172013
10MS Dhoni1152009

5. Chris Gayle -119 m

Chris Gayle, who is known for his six-hitting ability, delivered a masterclass for the Royal Challengers Bangalore against the Pune Warriors India. The West Indian innings holds the record for the highest individual score in the tournament’s history. Gayle dispatched left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza for a colossal six that travelled 119 metres during his knock in which he appeared to regard the bowlers with the utmost scorn.

4. Robin Uthappa – 120 m

The appearance of Robin Uthappa on this list should come as no surprise. The wicket-keeper batsman isn’t known for his ferocious hitting. He is a graceful batsman who prefers timing and precision over brute force. In IPL 2010, while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, he struck a career-best six off Dwayne Bravo’s bowling and deposited the ball miles over the long-on fielder.

3. Adam Gilchrist – 122 m

Far before T20 cricket, Adam Gilchrist was one of the batsmen who revolutionised cricket with his fiery style. It’s no wonder, then, that he adapted to the style like a duck to water. During his time in the IPL, the Australian legend shone brightly by demonstrating his six-hitting prowess. In 2011, he hit South African Charl Langeveldt for a 122-meter six, which was one of his major sixes.

2. Praveen Kumar – 124 m

The presence of Praveen Kumar on this list, and in second place at that, should come as the biggest surprise. The Indian international was regarded as one of the country’s greatest swing bowlers. He was not, though, synonymous with hitting sixes in any way. He could bat a little and had shown flashes in a few tournaments, but hitting a 124-meter six was clearly unimaginable. Praveen Kumar, of all people, did just that when he struck Lasith Malinga over long-off for a high.

1. Albie Morkel – 125 m

With his all-rounder results, Albie Morkel was a big asset to the Chennai Super Kings team. During his time with the franchise, the South African enthralled audiences with his big sixes. His 28-run over against Virat Kohli will go down in IPL history. The longest six in IPL history, however, did not come from the Indian spinner’s bowling. It came off the bowling of Pragyan Ojha, a spinner. During the inaugural edition of the IPL, Albie pounced on a tossed-up delivery and smashed it high and long over mid-wicket, setting a new record for the longest IPL innings.

Leave a Comment