Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh have a “one in a lifetime” moment. Remember India’s World Cup win in 2011?

Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh took to Twitter on the 10th anniversary of India’s 2011 ODI World Cup win to commemorate the occasion.

Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh took to social media ten years later to recall and pay tribute to India’s ODI World Cup win in 2011. On April 2, 2011, the duo were part of the MS Dhoni-led team that beat Sri Lanka in the final at Wankhede Stadium. It was India’s second ODI World Cup title, after their triumph in 1983. Sehwag took to Twitter to post a photo of the team celebrating with the trophy at Wankhede Stadium, captioning it, “April 2: 10 years ago, the moment of a lifetime.”

Meanwhile, Yuvraj shared a video on Twitter with the caption: “The 2nd of April, 2011 was a day when history was made! We tried to win the World Cup for India and for @sachin rt, the master who has borne the nation’s hopes for decades! #AlwaysBleedBlue #WC2011 @ICC @BCCI Indebted to be able to represent India and bring glory to our country #AlwaysBleedBlue “..

Yuvraj said in the video that Team India wanted to win the World Cup trophy for Sachin Tendulkar.

“The entire team was desperate to win the World Cup, particularly Sachin because it was his final appearance. We also wanted to win in India, which had never happened before “he said

India won the 2011 World Cup by six wickets over Sri Lanka in the final.

The hosts reached 277 for four in 48.2 overs in response to Sri Lanka’s performance, with Dhoni reaching the winning six. Yuvraj also went undefeated for India, forming a critical winning partnership with Dhoni and adding 21 runs to the total.

Kumar Sangakkara and Thilan Samaraweera were among the wickets taken by the all-rounder, who also bowled well. For his bat and ball performances, he was named Player of the Tournament.

Sehwag, on the other side, had a bad showing in the final, opening with a two-ball duck.

After the victory in 2011, there have been two more World Cups, with Australia and England winning in 2015 and 2019, respectively.

Virat Kohli led India to a semi-final appearance in the 2019 World Cup, where they were defeated by runners-up New Zealand.

Leave a Comment