Best cricket match prediction: Dhawan dropped out of ODI squad for Sri Lanka Series

Sikar Dhawan has been ruled out of the ODI squad for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka, BCCI confirmed on Tuesday (December 27), announcing the two-man white ball roster. I am suffering from bad form in ODI format. His 34.40 average and 74.21 batting average in 2022 are the lowest he’s recorded since his 2013 comeback.

Recent performances by Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan have also proven to be pivotal. Gil was over 70 in 2022 with a batting average of 102.57, while Kishan recently became the fourth Indian batsman to break two tons in ODI cricket. Calls for the veteran to retire, who turned 37 earlier this month, cast doubt on his future in international cricket.

Meanwhile, the selectors also dropped the Rishabh Pant from both teams. The wicketkeeper batsman also did not feature in his ODI for Bangladesh. Hardik Pandya again leads India in the shortest format after being named series skipper in New Zealand just after the T20 World Championships. The all-rounder also returns to the ODI roster and has also been named vice-captain of the format despite having KL Rahul on the roster. Midfield batsman Suryakumar Yadav will replace Hardik in the T20I setup.

Rahul won’t be playing in his T20Is alongside Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, but the trio will be back in his ODI game. The selectors also added capless his pacer Shiva Mavi and Mukesh his Kumar to his T20I series roster for three games. Bubneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Siraj, who were part of the New Zealand team, gave way to the uncapped duo. Kuldeep Yadav lost his place in his T20I team but was selected for ODI.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi will return to his T20I roster in place of Shreyas Iyer and Pant. After Dhawan was ruled out, Gill returned to the Over-50 Players after being neglected in the Bangladesh Series. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeya is absent from both teams as he continues to recover. The series will start on January 3rd in Mumbai. The ODI will take place on his January 10th, 12th and 15th.

T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

ODI squad:Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

Leave a Comment