Big Bash League Tips : BBL Finals Venues Confirmed Amid Test Series Clash

Gold Coast is poised to host its inaugural Big Bash final as the Brisbane Heat, leaders of KFC BBL|13, select Heritage Bank Stadium as their preferred venue for potential finals hosting rights this season.

With the Gabba and Adelaide Oval limited due to the Australian Test summer clash, two clubs, including the Heat, have to relocate home finals. The revamped finals series from January 19-24 coincides with Australia’s two-match series against the West Indies, where the top four BBL teams compete for the ultimate T20 cricket prize.

The Adelaide Strikers can’t host the Qualifier (January 19) or Knockout (January 20) finals at Adelaide Oval due to the first Test against the Windies at the same venue from January 17-21. If the Strikers finish first or third, they’ll play at Manuka Oval in Canberra, but finishing in the top two allows them to play a match at Adelaide Oval based on the Qualifier result.

Should the Heat qualify, all their finals will be on the Gold Coast, with the Gabba unavailable due to the second Test from January 25-29. The Heritage Bank Stadium will see its first BBL finals matches.

Manuka Oval hosted finals in the Covid-affected BBL|10 season, but now the remaining six clubs will host their finals at their respective home grounds if they qualify. With a new-look finals structure featuring the top four teams, the season is reduced to 44 games, emphasizing each match’s importance.

The top two teams play in the Qualifier on January 19, with the winner directly advancing to the Final. The third- and fourth-placed teams contest the Knockout on January 20, and the winner faces the Qualifier loser in the Challenger final on January 22 for the second spot in the decider.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s general manager of Big Bash Leagues, highlights the tighter venue access but appreciates the collaboration with clubs for fan-friendly solutions. The Melbourne Renegades vs. Perth Scorchers match abandoned due to a dangerous pitch in Geelong will not be rescheduled. Both teams receive one point, and an ongoing investigation delves into the circumstances leading to the abandonment.

Perth Scorchers, targeting the BBL’s first-ever three-peat, eyes a top-four finish as BBL|13 regular season concludes on January 17. Exact timings for finals will be confirmed later, ensuring prime-time coverage on Channel Seven, Foxtel, and Kayo Sports.

Also Read : BBL Predictions : Thunder Beaten By Heat Despite Milestones For Sams And Hales

1 thought on “Big Bash League Tips : BBL Finals Venues Confirmed Amid Test Series Clash”

Leave a Comment