Cricket match report yesterday: Ranji Trophy: Mohanty’s swan song ends with the victory of Orissa. Roul takes 6 wickets

Rookie pacesetter Sunil Roul’s six-wicket move takes Odisha to a seven-wicket victory over Group A leaders Bengal and the veteran pros in Friday’s Ranji Trophy match here at Eden Gardens I was able to.

After playing, the Bengals, who started with 220 at 3, went all out with 276 in the second innings.

Orissa, chasing the 112, overtook his target within an hour from the final day’s post-lunch session. Orissa wins for the first time, Bengal loses for the first time.

In the morning, Bengal opener Abhimanyu Easwaran, who has played from 94 nights, scored his third lunge of the season and sixth top-flight century before taking the wicket of Sudip Gharami the previous night with a second slip into the roll. was involved in Captain Manoj Tiwari, who started at age 50, was caught with the 52nd point and became Mohanty’s 403rd casualty.

By the way, Tiwary was Mohanty’s first wicket in his pacemaker’s debut for center in Siliguri in 2007. Orissa had won that match by his six wickets.

Roll, who scored six wickets in his debut earlier this month, was impressed with the line, length and movement, dismissing Sbunker his Bal, Pritam his Chakraborty and Jeet his Puli at a bargain. rice field.

Abishek Porel (38, 30b, 8×4) accidentally put Roul into his cover short after a typical shot-laden knock. Rowle joined his teammates who carried Mohanty off the field on his shoulders.

Anustup Majumdar, who is nursing an injured thumb, also did not hit in the second inning. Anurag Sarangi (37, 61b, 8×4), Subhranshu Senapati (22, 18b, 4×4), Sandeep Pattnaik (28 n.o., 27b, 5×4) and newcomer Rakesh Pattnaik (20 n.o., 12b, 1×4, 2×6) beat Orissa brought

The Bengali team’s management wanted a quarter-final match against Jharkhand in Kalyani, but the channel wanted Eden as the venue because better logistics were available for live coverage.

After returning from an overnight score of 94, Bengal’s opener Abhimanyu Easwaran achieved his third Ranji and sixth first-class century of the year before being caught in the second slip by Roul, who had earlier taken the wicket of Sudip Gharami.
catches him at point 52, making him Mohanty’s 403rd victim.

In fact, Mohanty’s first wicket came from Tiwary during the medium pacer’s Siliguri debut in 2007. That game had been won by Odisha by six wickets.

Roul, who made his debut earlier this month and took six wickets, impressed with his line, length, and movement as he cheaply removed Suvankar Bal, Pritam Chakraborty, and Geet Puri.

The scores:

Bengal — 1st innings: 100

Odisha — 1st innings: 265

Bengal — 2nd innings: Karan Lal c Shantanu b Mohanty 8, Abhimanyu Easwaran c Shantanu b Roul 101, Sudip Gharami lbw b Roul 50, Suvankar Bal c Dhuper b Roul 4, Manoj Tiwary c Rakesh b Mohanty 52, Abishek Porel c Rakesh b Roul 38, Akash Ghatak c Dhuper b Pradhan 5, Pritam Chakraborty b Roul 1, Geet Puri (c sub) lbw b Roul 0, Ishan Porel (not out) 0, Anustup Majumdar (absent hurt) 0, Extras (b-2, lb-10, nb-1, w-4) 17, Total (in 79 overs) 276

Fall of wickets: 1-29, 2-111, 3-117, 4-229, 5-239, 6-264, 7-267, 8-267, 9-276

Odisha bowling: Pradhan 15-1-47-1, Mohanty 20-10-33-2, Roul 27-5-96-6, Prayas 12-1-55-0, Senapati 2-0-14-0, Poddar 3-0-19-0

Odisha — 2nd innings: Anurag Sarangi c Chakraborty b Ghatak 37, Shantanu Mishra c Karan b Ishan 4, Subhranshu Senapati b Ghatak 22, Sandeep Pattnaik (not out) 28, Rakesh Pattnaik (not out) 20, Extras (lb-1) 1, Total (for three wickets in 22.2 overs) 112

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-51, 3-78

Bengal bowling: Ishan 5-1-22-1, Chakraborty 4-2-6-0, Puri (c. sub) 6-1-39-0, Ghatak 6-1-29-2, Karan 1-0-14-0, Gharami 0.2-0-1-0.

Leave a Comment