ICC prediction: Ben Stokes named ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Ben Stokes has been named the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year after spearheading an impressive revival of the format in England. Babar Azam received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year and Nat Sciver won his Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for Women’s Cricketer.

In 2022 he made 870 Test runs and took 26 wickets, Stokes was also named Test team his captain of the year. After losing the Caribbean in March, he led England to nine of their 10 wins.

“I would like to thank the ICC, the Board and the fans for voting for the ICC Men’s Test He Cricket Player of the Year,” Stokes said. “This is all thanks to the England players and management for such a positive year in Test cricket. , showed an important performance against India and won a historic victory in Pakistan.

“We enjoy cricket and we love to have fun where we play. His approach to cricket in our test thrilled the fans and encouraged everyone to participate, regardless of England’s results. It is to make it a spectacle that you can enjoy.

Babar Azam wins doubles

Babar was also named Men’s ODI Player of the Year and Shaheen shah is his second straight Sobers Trophy winner for Pakistan after Afridi won his 2021 award. Babar was the only batter to pass 2000 international runs across the three formats, averaging 54.12 with eight hundreds, and also led Pakistan to the finals of the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup.

“I feel humbled to have been voted as winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and join the ranks of some of the most iconic and respected names who have previously won the biggest and most prestigious individual award in our great sport,” he said. “I continue to look up to these players as well as champions of the past for inspiration, motivation and improvement.

“As cricket is a team sport, this recognition and achievement would not have been possible without the overwhelming support of my family, team, fans and the institution, to all of whom I am greatly indebted and thankful.”

Nat Sciver also bags two awards

Sciver was also a two-time winner, picking up the Women’s ODI Player of the Year award in addition to the Heyhoe Flint Trophy, having scored 1346 runs and taken 22 wickets for England across formats – including an astonishing innings 148 not out from 121 balls in the ODI World Cup final.

“It’s lovely to have been awarded the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year, especially as Rachael was such a legend of the women’s game in England and Wales,” Sciver said. “Winning an individual award is always an honor, but no individual achievement can be achieved without the hard work and cohesion of the whole team. Lifting a trophy or medal is even more special when you do it together with your teammates. It’s going to be something, so hopefully in 2023 it will all come to pass.”

Other winners include referee of the year Richard Illingworth and Nepal’s ICC Spirit of Cricket Award winner for refusing to knock out Ireland’s Andy McBrin after clashing with a bowler. Wicketkeeper Asif Sheikh was included. Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav was announced Wednesday as his T20I Cricketer of the Year at the ICC.

ICC awards winners for 2022

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy: Babar Azam

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy: Nat Sciver

Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes

Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Babar Azam

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Nat Sciver

Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Suryakumar Yadav

Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Tahlia McGrath

Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marco Jansen

Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Renuka Singh

Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Gerhard Erasmus

Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Esha Oza

David Shepherd Trophy: Richard Illingworth

Spirit of Cricket Award: Aasif Sheikh

Leave a Comment