Top 5 highest run-scorers in IPL history

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most famous cricket league in the world. Owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 edition of the competition had to be played in new conditions, but this did not change the standard of the cricket played. The IPL 2020 season saw it all, from the fastest run chase in IPL history to a landmark first double super-over game to a Super Sunday with two matches tied.

In terms of run-scoring, the 13th edition of the IPL saw three more players join the 5000-run team. Suresh Raina was the first person to join the elite club, which consists of world-class athletes.

5. Shikhar Dhawan- 5197 runs

During the KXIP vs DC game of IPL 2020, Shikhar Dhawan became the first player in IPL history to score consecutive tonnes. Shikhar Dhawan scored 101 against Chennai Super Kings and 106 against Kings XI Punjab.

Dhawan also joined the 5000-run club with 465 runs in the tournament with these results. Overall, he has a healthy total of 5197 runs.

4. Rohit Sharma-5230 runs

Rohit Sharma is one of the most prolific captains in the league, having led Mumbai Indians to four championships. The MI star is the IPL’s third player to reach the 5000-run mark.

In the IPL, Rohit currently has 5237 runs. He’s already got a century under his belt. In the coming seasons, Rohit is likely to climb even higher on the list.

3. David Warner – 5254 runs

David Warner, the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad, has become one of the most reliable players in the IPL. With three orange caps, Warner also holds the record for most orange caps in the tournament.
Warner recently became the fourth batsman to reach 5000 runs in the IPL’s history. Despite skipping one season due to a suspension imposed during the Sand-paper scandal, Warner has scored 5254 runs in the IPL. Warner has an IPL ranking of over 40, making him one of the top players in the competition.

2. Suresh Raina-5368 runs

During the 2019 season with CSK, Suresh Raina became the first player in IPL history to cross 5000 runs. Raina was the top run-getter in the Indian Premier League before the launch of the IPL 2020.

Raina was unable to compete in the tournament due to personal reasons. Raina has a strike rate of 137.14 and has 5368 runs. In his IPL career, Raina has 493 boundaries and 194 sixes.

1. Virat Kohli-5878 runs

After passing Suresh Raina in the 2020 edition of the IPL, RCB captain Virat Kohli now leads the charts for most runs scored in the tournament. Virat Kohli has 5878 runs in the IPL and is on the verge of breaching the 6000 run mark.

Kohli has 5 centuries in the game, with only Chris Gayle (6 centuries) having more. Kohli also has a career high of more than 35.

Leave a Comment