WICC prediction: ICC announces women’s T20 World Championship referees will all be women

In a significant first for world cricket, the ICC on Friday appointed an all-female match official panel, including the Indian trio of GS Lakshmi, Vrinda Rathi and Janani Narayanan, for the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa. .

Three referees and her ten referees make up her 13-man women’s team at this landmark moment, the ICC’s strategic goal of promoting women’s participation and visibility in cricket. is part of

The panel is made up of seven newcomers after a steady increase in the number of women competing in global tournaments.

India’s Rati and Janani will referee for the first time at the T20 World Championships, after being the first to referee the prestigious Ranji Her Trophy earlier this month.

ICC General Manager – Cricket, Wasim Khan said:
“Women’s cricket has grown rapidly in recent years, and as part of that, we have created ways to ensure that more women have the opportunity to serve at the highest level. “This announcement reflects our intentions in this area and is just the beginning of our journey towards equal opportunities for men and women in our sport. Each of the Women’s Cricket World Cups has 8 women officials and 9 women officials participated in the ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Claire Polosak is the most experienced of the judges selected and she has broken her records at every Women’s World Championship, T20 and ODI since 2016.

The 34-year-old Australian has qualified for her fourth T20 World Cup, while England’s Sue Redfern, West Indies’ Jacqueline Williams and New Zealand’s Kim Cotton have qualified for her third Women’s T20 World Cup. increase.

Lauren Agenbagh was given the chance to referee a World Cup in her home country, South Africa was selected for her second T20 World Cup, and referee Chandre Fritz made her first T20 World Cup match in her home country. supervised the Sri Lanka’s Michel Pereira, meanwhile, will be the first ever T20I in charge of the 2023 World Cup, which starts on 10 February when South Africa will face Sri Lanka in Cape Town.

England’s Anna Harris is the youngest referee at just 24 to make her debut at a major ICC event.

Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Match Referees: GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka) Umpires: Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (New Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India), Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka).

Leave a Comment