Expert cricbuzz prediction: India’s Rohit withdraws appeal, saying Shanaka cannot be taken out like that

India’s captain Rohit Sharma said he had dropped complaints over a ‘Mankad’ runout against Dasun Shanaka in Tuesday’s international match. .

Sri Lanka needed 83 runs off the final three balls in the second innings, but India’s Mohamed Shammi ran into the bowl, but as Shanaka left the circle for 98, he struck bail on the non-striker’s edge. rice field.

Shammi appealed for a runout when the referee signaled for a TV review before Rohit intervened, and withdrew the appeal after speaking with the referee.

Rohit said in a post-match interview, “I had no idea that Shami would appeal after doing that.” “He’s hitting 98 again. His batting was excellent. I have to give it to him. You can’t take him out like that.

“I wanted to get him out, like I was going to get him out, but I wasn’t thinking about it. But again, hats off, he played really well.”

Named after former Indian all-rounder Vinu Mankad, the sacking of ‘Mankad’ is legal but has sparked debate as to whether it goes against the spirit of the game.

Shanaka finished 6 on an unbeaten 108 after making his centenary in his second innings from last. India won by 67 runs to take a 1–0 lead in the three-game series.

Leave a Comment